Understanding Organization Permissions and Roles in Retrium

By default, all new, registered members of Organizations have Org Member permissions. These can be changed by an Organization Admin in the "Members" tab.

Participants can join as a Guest, or verified accounts can be assigned one of four different roles  Each role has different permissions, which affect what that user can see and do both within the Team Rooms and your Organization. 

Org Visitor

The Visitor role is great for contractors, short-term employees, or others that should only participate in a single or small number of Team Rooms.

Visitors can

  • Facilitate and participate in retrospectives.
  • View action items and the retrospective history. 
  • Only view Team Rooms and members of Team Rooms they were invited to join. 

Visitors cannot

  • Grant access to team rooms for other members.
  • See other team rooms they are not members of.
  • Create or deactivate team rooms.
  • Edit team room or organization settings. 

Org Member

The default and most common role. 

Members can 

  • Facilitate and participate in retrospectives.
  • View action items and the retrospective history.
  • View all Team Rooms in an Organization.
  • Invite or remove others from their Team Rooms. 

Members cannot

  • Create or deactivate team rooms.
  • Edit team room or organization settings. 

Org Manager

This role is often granted to Agile Coaches, ScrumMasters, or Managers within companies who need to be able to start up new teams of people quickly. 

Managers can

  • Do everything Members can, and
  • Create and deactivate team rooms.**

**Because billing is based on the number of active Team Rooms in a billing cycle, those with this permission will be able to increase the monthly or yearly cost of your subscription.

Managers cannot

  • Access the Administration settings.
  • Update billing information.

Org Admin

Admins can

  • Do everything Managers can, and
  • Edit organization settings.
  • Manage the billing information. 

Guests

This is not a role that can be assigned. It is an option that retrospective participants can choose when joining a Public Team Room. 

  • Guest participants do not have verified accounts and do not have to log in to participate in retrospectives.
  • Guests can only access Public Team Rooms. 
Did this answer your question?