Effective December 2020, custom templates can be saved and accessed in the Retrospective Technique picker. A template allows you to reuse your customized techniques without needing to recreate them each retrospective meeting.

In this article, you'll learn how to:

  • Create and save a custom template
  • Access and update your custom templates
  • Delete a template

Create and Save Custom Templates

1 - From your Team Room, click to Create Retro

2 - Select the Custom tab, pick a technique, and click Start Retro to customize your template.

3 - Add the headers or spoke labels to your template. When you’re done, click on the dots next to the Retrospective tab and select Save as a custom technique.

4 - Enter a template name and description to help you remember your template’s purpose, then click Save.

Save as custom technique

5 - You can continue running the retrospective or close the retrospective by clicking on the gear icon.

Access or Update Custom Templates

Once you have saved templates, they’ll be accessible through the retrospective technique picker in the team room in which they were saved.

1 - From your Team Room, click to Create Retro. Select the Custom tab. Your template will be visible under the Your Techniques section.

2 - Select the template you’d like to use, and click Start Retro.
3 - To update the template, make your modifications, click on the dots next to the Retrospective tab, and select Update current technique. These changes will override the existing template

Update existing template

Delete Existing Templates

1 - From your Team Room, click to Create Retro. Select the Custom tab. Your template will be visible under the Your Techniques section.

2 - Click to Delete, then Confirm.

Did this answer your question?