Permissions and Roles

There are several different roles in a Retrium organization and each comes with specific permissions.

This article applies to:

All plans

All roles

Table of Contents

  1. How to change a user's Org Role
  2. Understanding organization permissions and roles in Retrium
  3. Role definitions

How to Change a User's Org Role

By default, all new, registered members of an organization have Org Member permissions. These can be changed by an Org Admin in the Members tab. 

  1. Navigate to your Retrium org homepage 
  2. Click the Members tab
  3. Click the More (•••, three dots) menu next to the user's current role and select the new role you wish to assign

changing_user_roles_permissions

↑ Back to top


Understanding Organization Permissions and Roles in Retrium


Permission Org Admin Org Manager Org Member Org Visitor
Participate in or facilitate retrospective
Add and view action items
View Team Rooms and members ✅*
Change user permissions      
Invite or remove others from Team Rooms  
Create or deactivate Team Rooms**    
Edit Team Room and Org settings      
Export Org members list      
Manage billing information      

* Org Visitors can only see Team Rooms and members of Team Rooms they were invited to join.

** Because billing is based on the number of active Team Rooms in a billing cycle, those with this permission will be able to increase the monthly or yearly cost of your subscription.

💡 Roles apply across the organization, not to specific Team Rooms. All members of a Team Room have the same facilitator functionality. 

↑ Back to top


Role Definitions

Verified accounts within your organization can be assigned one of four different roles—Org Admin, Org Manager, Org Member, and Org Visitor.  Each role has different permissions, which affect what that user can see and do both within the Team Rooms and your Organization. 

Org Admin

The person that sets up the organization will automatically be an Org Admin. They have full permissions for billing, Team Room creation, and organization settings. 

Org Admins can

  • Do everything Managers can, and

  • Export the Org members list. 

  • Edit organization settings.

  • Manage the billing information. 

Org Manager

This role is often granted to Agile Coaches, ScrumMasters, or Managers within companies who need to be able to start up new teams of people quickly. 

Org Managers can

  • Do everything Members can

  • Create and deactivate team rooms

Org Managers cannot

  • Access the Administration settings

  • Update billing information

Org Member

The default and most common role; Org Members can participate in and facilitate retrospectives, but cannot create or deactivate rooms.

Members can 

  • Facilitate and participate in retrospectives

  • View action items and the retrospective history

  • View all Team Rooms in an Organization

  • Invite or remove others from their Team Rooms

Members cannot

  • Create or deactivate team rooms

  • Edit team room or organization settings

Org Visitor

The Visitor role is great for contractors, short-term employees, or others that should only participate in a single or a small number of Team Rooms.

Org Visitors can

  • Facilitate and participate in retrospectives
  • View action items and the retrospective history
  • Only view Team Rooms and members of Team Rooms they were invited to join

Visitors cannot

  • Grant access to team rooms for other members

  • See other team rooms they are not members of

  • Create or deactivate team rooms

  • Edit team room or organization settings

 

Guests

This is not a role that can be assigned. It is an option that retrospective participants can choose when joining a Public Team Room. Public Team Rooms are ideal for inviting teammates to test Retrium during the free trial or for using when large groups of participants need to join a team room.

💡 The Guest role is often used to test Retrium during the free trial or when large groups of participants need to join a team room.

  • Guest participants do not have verified accounts and do not have to log in to participate in retrospectives.

  • Guests can only access Public Team Rooms.

↑ Back to top