What is a Team Room?

Team Rooms are core to the Retrium experience. A Team Room is where you will go to run retrospectives with other people, create and track your action plans, and view your retrospective history. 

This article applies to:

All plans

All roles

Table of Contents



About Team Rooms

Each distinct team you work with will want their own Team Room to ensure the information shared is secure and only shared with the members of that group. If you're a ScrumMaster or Agile Coach that works with multiple teams, you will want to have a Team Room for each separate group with which you work.

💡 Only Org Admins and Org Managers can create new team rooms or reactivate Team Rooms. They can also add members to Team Rooms they're not a part of. All additions/removals of Team Room Members (along with other actions) are logged in the Team Room Activity Log.

↑ Back to top


Team Room Navigation 

Team Room Navigation consists of five tabs:

  • Home: Start a retrospective from this page and view outstanding action items.

  • Retrospective: This is where your retrospectives will take place. Learn more about facilitating a retrospective or participating in a retrospective on Retrium.
  • History: A visual and interactive history of retrospectives run within the Team Room.
  • Members: The list of users who have or are pending access to the Team Room. The member list also lets you know who is online in the team room. Anyone who is a Team Room Member can invite others to the Team Room.

  • Settings: Here, Org Admins and Org Managers can change the Team Room to private or public and deactivate/activate the Team Room. Any Team Room Member can also change the name of the Team Room if needed here.

zoomed_team_room_navigation

↑ Back to top


Public/Private Team Rooms

What are private Team Rooms?

  • Private Team Rooms require team members to log in to Retrium with a verified account.

  • Participants must be invited by email through Retrium or granted access to the Team Room. 

  • Information shared in the Private Team Room is secure and only shared with those in the members list.

What are public Team Rooms? 

Public Team Rooms allow anyone with the team room link to join retrospectives, no sign-in is necessary.

  • Public Team Rooms are ideal for inviting teammates to test Retrium during the free trial or for using when large groups of participants need to join a team room. 
  • A public Team Room can be switched to a Private Team Room without data loss. 

    ⚠️ Use caution with public Team Rooms as anyone with the link can join and view the information in the Team Room.

    ↑ Back to top


    Activated/Deactivated Team Rooms

    What is an activated Team Room?

    • An activated Team Room is a public or private team room that is open and available for teams to run retrospectives.

    • Any Team Rooms within an organization that are not deactivated are considered activated Team Rooms. 
    • If an Org Admin or Org Manager creates a new Team Room during a billing month, it is considered an activated Team Room and you will be charged a prorated fee for this room on your next invoice.

    How can I monitor activated Team Rooms? 

    • You can view the number of activated team rooms from your organization home. 

    • If a Team Room was activated at any point in the billing cycle, it counts as activated, so even if a Team Room is marked as deactivated currently, it may still be counted on your bill if it was activated at any point during the billing cycle. 

    How can I deactivate a Team Room?

    Org Admins and Org Managers can follow the steps here to deactivate a Team Room.

    What happens when a Team Room is deactivated?

    The deactivated Team Rooms are still available in your account should you want to activate them again. Once a Team Room is deactivated, you cannot view the action plan or retrospective history and cannot run retrospectives in that Team Room until it is activated again. 

    ❗️ When you upgrade to Team Edition from a free trial, you'll be billed immediately for all activated Team Rooms in your account. If there are team rooms you do not want to use, deactivate all test or other trial team rooms that will not be in use before you upgrade to a paid plan.

    ↑ Back to top


    Have other questions about Team Rooms? Let us know and we'd be happy to help!